

Dr L M Singhvi - recipient of the prestigious U Thant Award

Corporate News, July 11, 2007

U Thant Peace Award

Since 1982, Sri Chinmoy has presented the U Thant Peace Award on behalf of *Sri Chinmoy: The Peace Meditation at the United Nations* to individuals and organizations who, in exemplifying the lofty spiritual ideals of the late UN Secretary-General, have offered distinguished service toward the attainment of world peace. The award also perpetuates the memory of U Thant and his exemplary devotion to peace in both his personal and his political life. Some of the presentations have taken place on U Thant Island in the East River, directly facing the UN, which the Peace Meditation arranged to have renamed in honour of the late Secretary-General.

Recipients include Pope John Paul II, President Mikhail Gorbachev, President Nelson Mandela, Mother Teresa, and UNICEF Executive Director James Grant. U Thants daughter, Aye Aye Thant, recently thanked Sri Chinmoy for presenting the Award in her fathers memory for nearly two decades, commenting: "I would like to extend my gratitude to Sri Chinmoy for honouring the memory of my father by recognizing individuals for their service to world peace and the betterment of humanity with the U Thant Peace Award." (28 June 2007)

Pope John Paul II 1998

President Nelson Mandela 1996

Indian Prime Minister Atal B. Vajpayee 2001 President Mikhail Gorbachev 1994

Secretary-General Kurt Waldheim 2004 Macedonian President Boris Trajkovski 2002 Mother Teresa 1994

Secretary-General Javier Perez Ceullar 2005 James Grant Unicef Executive Director 1994



Sri Chinmoy offered a bouquet of flowers to UN Secretary-General U Thant during their meeting on 29 February 1972. On 25 May 1973, the Secretary-General attended the premiere of "Siddhartha Becomes the Buddha", a play written by Sri Chinmoy on the life of the buddha.

"Whoever speaks to me about you is all appreciation and admiration, and I personally feel that you have been doing a most significant task for the United Nations. Please feel my sincere respect and sincere concern for what you are doing for mankind."

- Secretary-General U Thant (29 February 1972)

Sri Chinmoy lifts UN Secretary-General Perez de Cuellar

On 26 May 2005, during a visit to Paris, Sri Chinmoy presented the U Thant Peace Award to UN Secretary-General Javier Perez de Cuellar. Sri Chinmoy also offered the "Lifting Up the World with a Oneness-Heart" Award to the Secretary-General.

"Sri Chinmoy is the heart of the United Nations. In all the years I was Secretary-General, and even before I was Secretary-General, he was always with us. Even if he was not present, his message was with us, and we were being inspired by him."

- Secretary-General Perez de Cuellar

(26 May 2005)

Jorge E. Illueca, President of Panama, President of the Thirty-eighth Session of the United Nations General Assembly (3 December 1983)

United Nations Development Programme (19 March 1985), received on behalf of UNDP by Uner Kirdar, Director of the Division of External Relations and Governing Council Secretarist. Bradford Morse, Administrator of UNDP, gave a statement on 21 March 1985

Guido De Marco, President of the Forty-fifth Session of the United Nations General Assembly, Foreign Ministerand Deputy Prime Minister of Malta (28 September 1991)

James P. Grant, UNICEF Executive Director, 1980-1995 (20 September

1994)

Mother Teresa, Nobel Peace Laureate, 1979 (1 October 1994)

Mikhail Gorbachev, President of the Soviet Union, 1985-1991; Nobel Peace Laureate, 1990 (16 October 1994)

Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Head of the Anglican Church in South Africa, Archbishop of Cape Town; Nobel Peace Laureate, 1984 (20 December 1995)

Nelson Mandela, President of South Africa, 1994-1999, Nobel Peace Laureate, 1993 (29 January 1996)

Laxmi Mall Singhvi, High Commissioner of India to the United Kingdom 1991-1997 (13 May 1995)

Maurice Strong, Senior Adviser to the President of the World Bank, Secretary-General of the 1992 United Nations

Conference on Environment and Development (Rio Earth Summit) (2 May 1996)

C.V. Narasimhan, Former Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations, 1956-1978, Chef de Cabinet to three

Secretaries-General (10 September 1996)

Vladimir Petrovsky, Director-General of the United Nations Office in Geneva (17 March 1997)

His Holiness The Dalai Lama, Nobel Peace Laureate, 1989 (28 May 1997)

I.K. Gujral, Prime Minister of India, 1997-1998 (21 September 1997)

Pope John Paul II (17 May 1998)

Mahathir Mohammed, Prime Minister of Malaysia (4 January 1999)

Girija Prasad Koirala, Prime Minister of Nepal (1 February 1999)

Krishna Prasad Bhattarai, Prime Minister of Nepal (29 September 1999)

Humayun Rasheed Choudhury, President of the Forty-first Session of the United Nations General Assembly and

Foreign Minister of Bangladesh; Speaker, Bangladesh Parliament (8 May 2000)

Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Prime Minister of India, 1998-2004 (13 January 2001)

President Boris Trajkovski, President of the Republic of Macedonia (8 May 2002)

Ravi Shankar, Legendary Sitarist (20 September 2002)

Kurt Waldheim, Fourth Secretary-General of the United Nations, 1972-1981, President of Austria, 1986-1992,

and current President of the United Nations Association of Austria (30 September 2004)

Javier Perez De Cuellar, Fifth Secretary-General of the United Nations, 1972-1981 and Prime Minister of Peru, 2000-2001 (26 May 2005)

Jan Eliasson, President of the Sixtieth Session of the United Nations General Assembly and Foreign Minister of

Sweden (17 May 2006)

Mark Malloch Brown, Chef de Cabinet, United Nations, Former Administrator of United Nations Development

Programme (13 November 2006)

President Nambaryn Enkhbayar, President of Mongolia (22 May 2007)

Daw Aye Aye Thant, Founder and President of the U Thant Institute (28 June 2007)

Ibrahim Agboola Gambari, Special Adviser on the International Compact with Iraq and Other Political Issue (3 July 2007)

- See more at: http://www.globalschoolsnews.org/global-schools/Dr-L-M-Singhvi-recipient-of-the-prestigious-U-Thant-award#sthash.tlnw9DGD.dpuf